A family that has never lost its bearings

La marque 16/10/2018

Like father, like son. Going back to the origins of Polaar, is like tracing the rich career path of an extraordinary family of travellers. Presentation.

Everything starts from a simple idea: transmission. This is the invisible base that has forever bound families together. In this respect, the Kurbiel family is far from an exception, quite the contrary.

Because if the essence of Polaar, its philosophy and the values of the brand have blossomed in the spirit of Daniel, its founder, it seems important to say that it was probably his parents who laid the first, already very white stone, of a “snow-inspired” and very ambitious project.

They were the ones who made the first trips to the Arctic. The first was to Iceland, in 1976, when the frozen shores of the island were explored aboard an imposing Icebreaker called Le Vagabond.

1976: the story begins on an icebreaker in the vicinity of the Icelandic shores.

This first polar odyssey was like a revelation: it was while adventuring across this unfamiliar and seemingly unfathomable region that the two explorers realised that they were intrigued and fascinated by the Far North.

Expeditions have followed, one after another, ever since. In 1978, for example, where the record for the northernmost sailing vessel was beaten off the coast of Greenland. The following year, they even charted the unexplored area of Blosville on the deck of Le Vagabond 2.

1982 will remain an unforgettable memory. Nicolas Hulot went with them on the trip, and they managed to find the exact location of the magnetic North Pole after being parachuted onto the ice floe.

At that time, the explorations did not respond to any research logic, which would shape part of the brand’s identity later, but more to a marked desire to push the boundaries of the continent and set new records.

Nevertheless, a first icy furrow was marked out. The very one into which Daniel would plunge a few years later…

Une famille qui n’a jamais perdu le Nord

La marque 16/10/2018

Tels parents, tel fils. Remonter aux origines de Polaar, c’est retracer le riche parcours d’une famille de voyageurs qui sort de l’ordinaire. Présentation.

Tout part d’une idée simple : la transmission. C’est le socle invisible qui cimente les familles depuis toujours. À cet égard, la famille Kurbiel est loin d’avoir fait exception, bien au contraire.

Car si l’essence de Polaar, sa philosophie et les valeurs de la marque ont germé dans l’esprit de Daniel, son fondateur, il semble important de préciser que ce sont probablement ses parents qui ont posé la première pierre, déjà très blanche, d’un projet aussi ambitieux qu’enneigé.

Ce sont bien eux qui ont entrepris les premiers voyages en direction de l’Arctique. En Islande d’abord, dès 1976, où les rivages gelés de l’île sont explorés à bord d’un imposant Brise-Glace baptisé Le Vagabond.

1976 : l’histoire débute sur un brise-glace aux abords des rivages islandais.

Cette première odyssée polaire agit comme une révélation : c’est en arpentant cette région méconnue et d’apparence insondable que le couple d’explorateurs s’est rendu compte qu’ils étaient intrigués et fascinés par le Grand Nord.

Les expéditions se sont succédées depuis. En 1978, par exemple, où le record du navire s’étant aventuré le plus au Nord fut battu au large du Groenland. L’année suivante, ils ont même cartographié la région inexplorée de Blosville sur le pont du Vagabond 2.

1982 restera un souvenir inoubliable. En compagnie de Nicolas Hulot, ils parvinrent à dénicher l’emplacement exact du Pôle Nord magnétique après avoir été parachutés en pleine banquise.

À ce moment précis, les explorations ne répondaient à aucune logique de recherche, qui façonnera une partie de l’identité de la marque plus tard, mais davantage à une volonté marquée de repousser les frontières du continent et d’établir de nouveaux records.

Néanmoins, un premier sillon givré était tracé. Celui-là même dans lequel Daniel s’engouffrera quelques années plus tard…